I have a problem.

October 31, 2011 at 4:34 am 2 comments

I have acne.

I have a leaky roof.

I have a run in my stockings.

I have two left feet.

I have a peanut allergy.

I have an ingrown toenail.

I have anxiety.

I have a headache.

I have a short temper and it’s going to blow the next time I hear someone say “My son is ADHD.”

Or “My neighbor is Down Syndrome.” And although “autistic” and “dyslexic” are syntactically correct adjectives, you could do better than that, too. But mostly I object to anything that equates to “A person is a problem.”

I almost feel like writing more just to make the post more literary. But more strongly than that, I feel like I shouldn’t need to. Need I say more?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Friday Finds: Education.com Wednesday Whatsits: What’s the ELA?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Proud Mommy  |  October 31, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    I agree, “problems” do not describe a person. Just like a child is not bad, they just do bad things sometimes. Although when someone has a “problem” they have a choice how they want to deal with it, and that describes what kinda person they are.

    There was actually a good quote I saw somewhere that said:
    “Attitudes are the Real Disability”

    Reply
  • 2. Josh  |  October 31, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Excellent blog thus far.

    Very well written with pertinent, interesting information.

    I like it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Follow me on Twitter


